Curiosity Killed Culture Shock

27 Jul

I have been bombarded with advice and clichés since I announced my now imminent move to Germany.  Such classics as wearing socks with sandals or the myth that I will soon be nourishing myself almost exclusively on beer and sausage have reared their frightening heads!

Experience has taught me that there is almost always some truth behind such stereotypical associations with a country.  However, I’ve also learned that there are amazing encounters to be had with a culture if you venture beyond your preconceived notions.

Just think, as you marvel over the surprising fashion trends or platters in a country, they are probably snickering right back.  What ridicule may be waiting for me in Erlangen?  Hard to say at this point, but I will certainly keep you updated over the coming weeks!  In the meantime, I will be armed with relentless curiosity.  So be prepared for the surprising revelations to come…

2 Responses to “Curiosity Killed Culture Shock”

  1. rassel July 28, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    ich bin überrascht, was kommt…

  2. Kangning August 1, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Haha have fun! and I will follow you here! 😉

Leave a Reply

