Apartment Hunting (episode 2 – I’m leaving, and I’m taking the kitchen with me!)

12 Aug

A move is always a costly affair.  It usually involves some new furniture, maybe a few lamps or even light fixtures.  When looking to rent, it is usually a good idea to mentally prepare yourself ahead of time for the fact you will be shelling out some serious cash, and comfort yourself with the fact that it would still cost quite a bit more to buy.

Now close your eyes and imagine you are looking for the perfect apartment to rent.  You have covered every inch of your city to find the perfect neighborhood, neighbors, and floor plan.  You have spent hours researching the public transportation connections and municipal services.  Then, when you are about to abandon all hope you find it, the diamond in the rough.  Filled with joy, you tell yourself that it seems too good to be true, and maybe it just is…

Renters Beware: kitchen not included!

That is right.  In Germany, it is customary to move in and move out with your own kitchen when renting.  This includes cabinets, dishwasher, stove, oven…the whole bit!

What to do if I do not want to invest in a new kitchen?

Apartments for rent with the kitchen included apparently do exist, but this tends to be rare and is sometimes compensated by higher monthly rent.  Another option is often to buy the kitchen installed by the former tenant, but this can still cost several thousand Euros if the kitchen is recent and includes high quality appliances.

So now, after a full week of apartment hunting, it is time to take things to a new level with The Great Search for the perfect apartment AND the perfect kitchen (included!).  Episode 3 – Coming Soon!

6 Responses to “Apartment Hunting (episode 2 – I’m leaving, and I’m taking the kitchen with me!)”

  1. Karl August 12, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    I want to know what the cat thinks about all of this.

  2. E. August 12, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Boy, you sure have some expectations !!
    I basically never rented an appartement with kitchen included, even in Paris ! I bought all my kitchen furniture and equipment when I moved in my first appartement. So now I don’t have to think about it, because I’ve got everything I need.

    However, I agree with you, it’s gonna be quite expensive if you decide to buy everything at the same time. Maybe start with the important stuff, what you guys use more often, and then you’ll buy the rest a few months after settling in !

    Or maybe you’ll find THE perfect appartement. I hope so, and also that the rent won’t be too high !

    • bavariaundercover August 12, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

      Really? I thought kitchens were always included in parisian rentals! I’m still crossing my fingers for THE apartment and kitchen, and will keep you updated.

  3. kathleen monaghan August 13, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    no kitchen????? oh my. I will wait with interest to see what happens! On the other hand, it gives me comfort to know that things are not exactly the same everywhere, even in this day and age!!!

  4. katekp September 10, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    depending on where u live, you can get most stuff pretty much free. For example in Würzburg there is a site called http://www.wuewowas.de on which students pretty much give away their stuff for free (the whole moving palava); i furnished my flat for like 200 euros 🙂

    • bavariaundercover September 11, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I will check it out once apartment matters get worked out 🙂

Leave a Reply

