Kloß, Or The Not So Mighty Potato

9 Sep

Hold the Side Please!

During my last culinary outing, I decided to order a typically German side dish – Kloß.  With so many potato dishes out there, trying this one has shown me that I do not know my spuds as well as I had previously thought.

Pass the salt! The word “Kloß” could be translated into English as potato dumpling.  Unfortunately, this popular side dish is probably the blandest thing I have ever tasted.  With no salt on the table, I only had my main dish’s sauce to work with, and even that did not help.

Squishy Potatoes? The second problem I encountered with the dish had nothing to do with taste buds, but with texture.  I was naturally expecting a starchy or even floury texture.  If you order Kloß, then mentally prepare yourself ahead of time to eat something sticky and rather gummy.

Mystery Filling. I was determined to eat the entire Kloß.  After all, it did not taste bad, it just did not taste like anything at all.  However, I was in for one more surprise – the filling.  In the center, these potato balls are stuffed with breadcrumbs.  Not so daunting when you know what you are eating.  At the time however, haunted by some French food mishaps (one word – tripes), I was not feeling up to trying any unidentified stuffing.

I have to say that I will not be whipping up big batches of Kloße any time soon, and am left puzzling over this dish’s popularity.  Nevertheless, I am sure I would readily choose a plate full of Kloße over the potato juice my German teacher told us about the other day.

4 Responses to “Kloß, Or The Not So Mighty Potato”

  1. Karl September 9, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    How can you be so sure that you would not end up preferring the potato juice? It might be surprisingly tasty. Maybe you could try it and then report about it?

  2. katekp September 10, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Hey! I just moved to Bavaria too and i agree, these squishy spud balls are pretty boring! Where do u live?

  3. E. September 15, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    That doesn’t seem like something I would want to taste… EW !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goulash – Receta al estilo alemán | Las Recetas de Bibi - January 9, 2016

    […] agregan crema de leche; como resultado, obtienen una salsa blanca y no roja. También lo sirven con Kloß, una bolita de papa. En este caso vamos a servir el Goulash como normalmente de dispone, como un […]

Leave a Reply

