Visiting Berlin

26 Nov

Since I arrived in Berlin at the beginning of the week, it seems like the days and nights are just flying by.  Could this be my favorite city of all time?  Well, I definitely love every minute I am here.

My trip has been filled with snow, Christmas markets, museums, new encounters, and lots of FUN.  Luckily on my last trip I saw some of the major sites and can spend some time just relaxing with tea, mulled wine, or even the occasional hot caipirinha to warm me up while wandering through one of the city’s Christmas markets.

I did take some time out, however, to visit some museums and do some tours. I spent almost an entire day at the German Historical Museum.  This is a great way to brush up on over 2000 years of German history.  I also made it to the Pergamon Museum yesterday morning to check out some impressive examples of Greek, Roman, and Babylonian architecture.  In the afternoon, I did the 4-hour “free tour” of the city center.   There was a special Thanksgiving group, and we got to do the tour with only 6 people.  We had a great time and even had a glass of sekt to toast among Americans.  I may have missed out on the traditional Thanksgiving dinner (I just did not make it onto the US Ambassador’s guest list this year) , but the spirit was definitely alive.

So, that’s the end of this quick update, with more to come soon!  If anyone can suggest some cool Berlin hangouts, please feel free to leave a comment.

The German Historical Musuem

The Pergamon Museum houses some impressive examples of ancient architecture

The "free tour" starts daily at 11am and 1pm near the Brandenburg Gate. This 3-4 hour walking tour takes you to all the city's major sites.

3 Responses to “Visiting Berlin”

  1. Michael November 26, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    if you want to check out bobo berlin including some amazing and occasionally vegan cafes and some odd shops, you can go to kastanienallee (spelling?) that begins in mitte and goes into Prenzlauerberg. It’s totally hipster and enjoyable.

  2. Karl November 26, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    WOW !!!

  3. Meg November 26, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Caipirinhas are my favorite! I can’t believe a Brazilian drink is so popular there. I’ve never heard of drinking it hot, either…but this IS Texas after all.

Leave a Reply

