A Medieval Christmas

20 Dec

The nearby Medieval city of Bamberg is a popular regional tourist destination. My day trip there this fall gave me a chance to visit the sites and learn a little about the city’s history (A Fun Day in Bamberg).  This time, it was all about relaxing and enjoying the town’s Gemütlichkeit.

I snapped some pictures the other day while visiting the city.  Here are some shots of the main sites and Christmas market.  There is really nothing cozier than a medieval city draped in snow.

I just saw I am freshly pressed!  I am so excited!  Thanks to everyone for stopping by!!!

The sites

Bamberg’s Christmas Market

Gemütlichkeit!

91 Responses to “A Medieval Christmas”

  1. Karl December 20, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    WOW !! Amazing photos…… and the snow covered city does indeed look “cozy”.

  2. notesfromrumbleycottage December 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    The city looks beautiful with the covering of snow. I have never been to a German Christmas market but our family is planning to attend the one in Chicago tomorrow night.

    • bavariaundercover December 22, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      This is my first year in Germany and I’m really enjoying the snow and Christmas markets! I hope you’ll have fun at the one in Chicago! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  3. the tourist December 25, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    Glühwein!

    Looks like fun. Congrats on being on WordPress’ main site.

  4. louisabellissima December 25, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Very beautiful!

  5. Loni December 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    I grew up near Milwaukee, in a very German area. My maiden name was Froehlich – little German, huh? 🙂 My aunt always made Shaum Torte for dessert and it’s my most hit upon blog post (http://writingcanvas.wordpress.com/2006/12/14/my-traditional-schaum-torte-recipe/)

    It has been real interesting to get a glimpse of it in Germany. Thank you for sharing this. :

  6. Jean December 25, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    This summer we went to southern Germany, Baden-Wuttermberg area closer to the French border where my partner was born, grew up before he immigrated to Canada as a little boy.

    One does not need to go to Christmas market to appreciate the German medieval and rennaissance artwork which feature colours of red, green and terra cotta brown in the liturgical works. You can see the influence of “Christmas colours” in our present day Christmas images…from these older artpieces– year-round which aren’t Christmas in theme. But more for timeless religious messages. It was my first exposure to this German era art. (compared to Italian and French of same eras that I knew and seen already.)

    http://cyclewriteblog.wordpress.com/2010/07/10/freiburg-germany-cycling-among-medieval-and-renaissance-restoration/

    No he hasn’t visited a Christmas market in Germany in his visits back to Germany…but his mother kept alive many traditional German Christmas traditions in Canada..live fresh cut evergreen boughs, live Christmas tree, baking her fine multi-layered tortes, cookies (old German recipes that are hard to locate in English). She was from a family line of pastry chefs. There is still a family hotel-restaurant and vineyard from 1700’s in Black Forest region. My blog does a piece on how different the traditional European tortes and kugelhofs ae from North America, spargel and cycling in Freiburg, Karslruhe, etc.

    For a more full-out celebration of German culture would be in Leavenworth, Washington state. It’s year round. Yes, we went around Christmas, did snowshoeing,etc. There’s good sauerbraten in some of the restaurants there!

    This year he will make his version of herbed spaetzle for New Year’s or so. 🙂

  7. ladyjustine December 25, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Gorgeous photos!

  8. missdisplaced December 25, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    So Pretty.

  9. auntbethany December 25, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

    Seeing posts like these makes me want to travel SOOO badly! I love the opening shots of the city. Looks absolutely idyllic. Did you buy anything at the market?

    I hope you have a very merry Christmas! Kudos on being FP!

    http://miracleon32ndstreet.wordpress.com

    • bavariaundercover December 27, 2010 at 12:56 am #

      I bought some mulled wine (to stay warm) and some spiced honey. There were all kinds of tasty things to try! It was hard to choose!

  10. Connie T December 25, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    It looks beautiful and a wonderful place to visit.

  11. niceartlife December 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    Breathtaking town a true authentic Christmas Village! Frohe Weihnachten!

  12. rachel2011 December 25, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Wow that is beautiful. One of my goals for 2011 is to plan a trip, I should definitely look more into this! Amazing. How do I even decide where to go? I want to see everything!!

  13. Calogero Mira December 25, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Wonderful photos from Bamberg.

  14. Peru En RoUte December 25, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Cool pictures!

    You should choose the best pictures out of Berlin´s, Nuremberg´s, Augsburg´s as well as Bamberg´s Christmas markets.

    By the way, yesterday I visited Cusco´s Christmas market and it is also wonderful.

    • bavariaundercover December 27, 2010 at 1:01 am #

      Hi! I checked out your post on Cusco. I would love to go there some day and check it out in person. It’s fun to see what Christmas traditions are like in different countries.

      • Peru En RoUte December 30, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

        You are right, bavaria, the same religious feast but each country and even each country´s region celebrate it differently.

        For instance, most people eat turkey on Christmas, but some Cusco families eat either suckling or chicken broth. In Lima that would be out of order, limeños love turkey on Christmas.

  15. hearttypat December 25, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    i have been to bamberg once and it looks just as pretty in the fall and in winter!

  16. bagnidilucca December 25, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    Lovely pictures of Bamberg. I have bben a couple of times. it is a beautiful city and looks wonderful covered in snow.

  17. Little Explorer December 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    What a beautiful place!!! Perfect for a winter holiday!
    Congratulations on getting Freshly Pressed!

    http://littleexplorer.wordpress.com/

  18. Tooty Nolan December 25, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Okay – I’m offically envious.

  19. bsr6653 December 26, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I lived near Stuttgart, Germany for three years and your pictures remind me so much of of the christmas market there, especially when it had snowed!

  20. agnesaki December 26, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    wonderful and merry christmas from Estonia

  21. Gloris December 26, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    Quaint old buildings. Lovely. What’s in the red bag thingys. Cheese?

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

      Actually, it’s sausage! Very creative packaging this time, so I couldn’t resist taking the picture.

  22. Magnificent Minimalist December 26, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    That third picture inspires some evocative day dreams right there. Nice work–thanks for this post!

  23. Amit December 26, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    These are the best White Christmas photos I’ve seen in a while! Love the amazing pics…!

  24. gothichydran126 December 26, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    I really miss the Christmas Markets!! Your pictures bring back some great memories!! I use to live in Frankfurt, Germany years ago in a Military base. My middle school would take field trips to the Christmas market every year. My classmates and I use to blow our money on the plastic toys, candy, and that soft gingerbread that came in various shapes. Man, I’d love to visit one again someday.
    Wonderful pictures!!!

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      Glad I could bring back some good memories! Thanks for stopping by!

  25. ridleymocki December 26, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    What a beautiful town! And merry Christmas to you. I’m in Australia so I can’t imagine what its like to have a white Christmas. But it seems wonderful!

  26. Andreas Moser December 26, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    Thanks for the beautiful photos from my home area!
    But we should not forget the overall negative economic impact that Christmas has on the economy: http://andreasmoser.wordpress.com/2010/12/23/economics-of-christmas/

  27. schnortzel December 26, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Beautiful pictures! I’ve lived in Germany, in Karlsruhe, a few years in early -70, but we didn’t have so much snow then. Climate has changed. Now, here in Finland, we are used to snowy winters, and we both enjoy it and hate it!

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

      I guess since I have never seen so much snow, it just feels like a fairy tale here. However, shoveling snow at 6am has been a wake up call 😉 I still love it though! Thanks for stopping by!

  28. sannekurz December 26, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I live merely two hours away from Bamberg and had never been there untill I shot a movie there last Christmas. We shot in a book-shop right in front of the bridge leading to the house hanging across the river in you image.
    The book shop is like an old ancient maize leading you deeper and deeper in to its story filled thousand year old belly.
    And if you follow its call through the many small rooms joined together by even tinier corridors, you might find yourself in a fairytale.
    The film is called “not far from me” (working title “Andererseits”) and you can find images of it – containing the Bamberg bookshop – by googeling the name of the movie.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Very cool! I’ll check it out! Thanks so much for sharing!

  29. mirandulino December 26, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    its vere buriful:)

  30. mirandulino December 26, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    es ist sehr shon

  31. Jill Swenson December 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    My neighbors and I were spaziergehen Christmas Eve and reminiscing about Munich’s christmas market. They lived in Germany for many years and I attended university there in the mid 1970s. The photos seem so timeless and capture genau the meaning of gemutlichkeit.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      Danke! Thanks for stopping by! Glad to have shared some Gemütlichkeit with you for Christmas!

  32. Mel December 26, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Very nice! 🙂

    I live in northern Germany and it can be nice also but I am looking forward to traveling south someday.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

      I have not made it farther north than Berlin. The south has been fun to explore. I hope you’ll make it down to Bavaria and have a great time!

  33. Nin's Travelog December 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Nice pictures….

  34. Az. SBSM December 26, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Absolutely beautiful, I so enjoy blogs like yours, where I can travel the world from the comforts of home. Travel blogs are definetly my most favorite.

    Thank you for sharing and congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

    Leila
    http://azsbsm.wordpress.com/

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

      I love traveling, and have been very lucky over the years. I’ve seen more than I ever imagined. Glad I could share with you!

  35. Kelly McDonald December 26, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    So great to see delicious Bamberg under snow! I was last in the city in the 1990s, and — until seeing your beautiful photos — rather forgot that magical time in my life. Ich danke Ihnen fuer Bamberg im Winter! Sehr schoen!!

  36. trishothinks December 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    It must have been like “going back in time”….how awesome!

  37. elirosswriter December 26, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Beautiful photos; I’ll add Bamburg to my list of must see towns. And congrats on your freshly pressed status!

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks! Definitely a must see! Hope you’ll have fun when you get there!

  38. leatherhead109 December 26, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

    Great pictures! When I dream of travel, I think of Deutschland! Especially Bavaria. I grew up with shadows of old Germany through my father and his ancestory. He spent military time there in the early years after WWII and loved the people and the people gave back to him. I used to spend hours looking at his Kodachrome slides, which looked very much like your post. I have been all over the world, but never where I wanted to be. I would have chosen Germany first. Ahh, maybe someday. Thanks for the pictures.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks for sharing! I hope you’ll make it here one day! I love it!

  39. Pappa Bear December 26, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Beautiful pictures, I really enjoyed looking through your site.

  40. notitiae December 26, 2010 at 6:42 pm #

    Quite a good Post and wonderfull photoes, pic…
    I wanted to link my post and for the Photography and its word… With the last contribution, help or work: it’s in Italian …
    http://notitiae.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/privacy-copyrights-paparazzi/

  41. Heather CJ Atkins December 26, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    I love Deutschland in winter! This town looks especially enchanting thanks to your multitude of detailed images 🙂

  42. abby December 26, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    My dad was in Germany visiting his brother last year at Christmas time and he visited one of the markets you describe in this post. Very cool tradition!

    Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed the pictures especially. 🙂

  43. benganje December 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Go anywhere in Germany this time of year as it’s no fail for a good time. Nice post!

  44. benganje December 26, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Go anywhere in Germany this time of year as it’s no fail for a good time.

  45. Jeannetta Vivere December 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm #

    I’ve only been to Berlin in Germany for a Christmas market, I thought it was wonderful ! Now a new place on my list, beautiful photos thanks so much for sharing.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

      I loved the Christmas markets in Berlin too! A different feel, but fun! Hope you’ll make it to Bamberg. It’s a cozy little place!

  46. Aaron December 26, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Those are some amazing pictures, I guess that town hasn’t changed much over the years! I like old stuff though

  47. Gandalfe December 26, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    So maybe you share the German secret tastefest that called Liebkuchen? It’s so hard to find in the states.

    • bavariaundercover December 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm #

      So yummy! I know they translate it as gingerbread, but it’s just not the same is it?

  48. enjoibeing December 27, 2010 at 12:29 am #

    wow very nice! looks beautiful there!

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  49. Tee December 27, 2010 at 3:04 am #

    Thanks for taking me there. I am sorely in need of travel, but I can’t get away. At least I can dream. 🙂

  50. drpretzel December 27, 2010 at 4:54 am #

    I lived in Bavaria for two wonderful years, in Kitzingen. I miss it terribly and am very jealous of your Kristkindelmarkt experience! I’d love a glass of gluhewein!

  51. cb December 27, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    Love the photos.

  52. richannkur December 27, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    Very nice… Wish u a Merry Christmas n a happy new year!!

  53. Roda December 27, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    It seems as if time has stood still. Looks beautiful though

  54. merielwho December 27, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Beautiful! 🙂
    I wish to experience a white Christmas too!

  55. Leanne December 27, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    really pretty 🙂 we have german markets that come to visit us in manchester, england but the surroundings are nowhere near as beautiful as here!!

    thanks

    check out my blog – it’s brand new!!

    http://urbanoptimist.wordpress.com/

    lovess

    xxx

  56. missdisplaced December 27, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I love that house in Photo #3 and how it’s built over the river. So Tudor-style.

    • bavariaundercover December 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      That building is the historical town hall (Rathaus). It’s one of the most original buildings I’ve seen. Although you can’t really see it so well, due to the angle, the other side of the building is covered in colorful paintings.

  57. Drea December 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    Beautiful images!

  58. eburdullis December 27, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    love seeing Christmas celebrations all over the globe! cheers. eburdullis.wordpress.com (a cusco Christmas)

  59. shirleymclain930 December 27, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Great pictures, I loved the snow and the market. I have never been to anything like that. I’m sure you see some very interesting things in that market. Congrats on your Fresh Pressed status. Good job.

  60. stellycious stella December 29, 2010 at 2:19 am #

    I was trying to boost up my mind after holiday effect and then I saw your picture… So interisting. Wish i can go to the market there in the next Christmas. 🙂

  61. cityoftheweek January 10, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    nice pictures! a very christmasy feeling

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Medieval Christmas (via Bavaria Undercover) « Another Day Here - December 25, 2010

    […] A Medieval Christmas (via Bavaria Undercover) By joeisrad The nearby Medieval city of Bamberg is a popular regional tourist destination. My day trip there this fall gave me a chance to visit the sites and learn a little about the city's history (A Fun Day in Bamberg).  This time, it was all about relaxing and enjoying the town's Gemütlichkeit. I snapped some pictures the other day while visiting the city.  Here are some shots of the main sites and Christmas market.  There is really nothing cozier than a … Read More […]

  2. Bavaria Undercover « Campfire Cooking - December 26, 2010

    […] pictures (see the post A Medieval Christmas) it will make you want to get on a […]

  3. A Medieval Christmas « Live Earth Planet S.O.S - December 26, 2010

    […] Link : https://bavariaundercover.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/a-medieval-christmas/ […]

  4. A Medieval Christmas « Live view of the world now - December 26, 2010

    […] Link : https://bavariaundercover.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/a-medieval-christmas/ […]

  5. Christmas reading | STRATEGIC LEARNERS - December 27, 2010

    […] https://bavariaundercover.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/a-medieval-christmas/ […]

Leave a Reply

